Day 93

I have had a dilemma. There are some people I just don’t want to connect with and some people that on some days I don’t want to connect with.  Writing this blog has given me awareness around connecting, so I had have some internal dialogue going on (for some time) about this. Most of it, “shoulding” myself. The result has been that I have not wanted to blog about connecting at all and haven’t.

Who don’t I want to connect with?

The homeless guy who sits on the street near the station and abuses the Asian people who walk past. I have had some interaction with him so it is not everyday that I don’t want to connect, just some. On the days that I don’t want to connect and he is not there I breathe a sigh of relief.

I then read an article with a quote that stood out and helped me to come to turns with my lack of interest in connecting with the homeless man at times. In the article a buddhist monk said that is is our duty to love all beings and, some we need to love from afar. That idea gave me permission to avoid the homeless guy if I needed to.  My internal dialogue quieted.

Then came the day when I really didn’t want to connect and he was there seated on the ground. I sighed and went to girdle my loins but remembered the buddhist monk, so I turned, went to the crossing, crossed the road, walked along the path, crossed back over the road and went to work, happily, having avoided connecting. It is a journey.

In loving connection

Leave a comment